Search SHS-Sports

SHS-Sports News
Date Topic Contributor Sport


December 2 , 2013

    Class 1A
  1. Round Top-Carmine 33-12
  2. Windthorst 36-9
  3t. Jewett Leon 45-3
  3t. Lindsay 37-8
  5t. Iola, Thrall, Burton, Archer City
  9t. Milano, Beckville, Miles, Yorktown, Three Rivers, Sterling City, Big Sandy and Gorman
  17t. Plains, Normangee, Cayuga, Fort Elliott, Avery, Miller Grove, Water Valley, West Texas, Weimar, Richards, Collinsville, Kerens, Woodsboro, Thorndale, Forestburg, Shiner, Pettus

Comments: Amazing to see finals matching two of the perennial class 1A powers with Tanya Nygrin’s Cubettes edging Stacy Wolf’s Windthorst squad.  2012 champion Jewett Leon was a marvel for the third straight year after winning 2A in 2011 then 1A last year.  Lindsay displayed great poise in face of such tradition.

  Class 2A
  1. Bushland 38-5
  2. Schulenburg 42-4
  3t. Crawford 46-3
  3t. Brock 36-9
  5t. Franklin, Poth, Callisburg and Highland Park
  9t. White Oak, Henrietta, Nocona, Palestine Westwood, Queen City, Edna, Goliad and Quitman
  17t. Rogers, Troup, Lexington, New Diana, Holliday, Tulia, Comfort, Sanford-Fritch, Breckenridge, Caddo Mills., Alba-Golden, Godley, Chisum, Marion, Palacios and East Bernard

Comments: No losers here.  Defending champion Brock and top ranked Crawford played very well but Bushland’s up tempo offense and the strength of Schulenburg’s schedule (which included wins over powerful Poth) was the slight difference with the Lady Falcons taking home the prize.

  Class 3A
  1. Decatur 39-7
  2. Bellville 40-7
  3t. Big Spring 32-13
  3t. College Station 31-11
  5t. Wimberley 36-10, Longview Spring Hill, Abilene Wylie, West
  9t. Hargrave, Liberty Hill, Springtown, Paris North Lamar, Cleveland Tarkington, Celina, Devine and Rockport- Fulton

Iowa Park, Monahans, Seminole, Stephenville, Argyle, Melissa, Rains, Columbus, Hondo, LaGrange, Sinton, Hamshire-Fannett, Lorena, Sweeny, Robinson and Crandall


Comments: Great season from College Station and Big Spring but in the end the ball control of Decatur and tradition rich Bellville proven too much to overcome.  Decatur’s brutal march through playoffs likely steeled them for the championship victory.

  Class 4A
  1. Amarillo 36-9
  2. Prosper 35-12
  3t. Dripping Springs 40-10
  3t. Friendswood 32-15
  5t. Cedar Park, Frisco Centennial, Granbury, Dawson
  9t. Mission Veteran’s Memorial, Lucas Lovejoy, Waxahachie, Aledo, Calallen, Dumas, Georgetown and Barbers Hill
  17t. Montgomery, Tomball Memorial, Huntsville, Ridge Point, Dallas Highland Park, Red Oak, Frenship, Burleson, Frisco, Wylie, Canyon Randall, Byron Nelson, Leander, Floresville, Vista Ridge, Victoria East

Comments: Amarillo added a class 4A title to their collection of 5A crowns as the Golden Sandstorm blew into Garland and swept away another title.  Prosper had a tremendous run while Dripping Springs started several sophomores.  Friendswood is a traditional state qualifier but is just slight step from bringing home the Gold.  Given their returning talent, next year could be the year.

  Class 5A
  1. The Woodlands 45-0
  2. San Antonio Churchill (47-3)
  3t. Southlake Carroll 48-2
  3t. Houston Clear Falls (40-7)
  5t. Colleyville Heritage, Plano, Cy Fair, Cy Falls
  9t. Round Rock, Alvin, San Antonio Reagan, Allen, McAllen Rowe, Arlington Martin, Rivera and Hebron
  17t. Coppell, Rockwall Heath, Austin Westlake, McKinney, Kingwood, New Braunfels, Los Fresnos, New Braunfels Canyon, McAllen, El Paso Coronado, Flower Mound, Arlington, Cy Woods, Pearland, Katy Cinco Ranch and Fort Bend Dulles

Comments: Wow, The Highlanders are for real, winning Nike Pearland, going unbeaten capped with a state title and top national rating in at least one national poll.  Churchill was not really a surprise but the Chargers had their hands full with the Lady Dragons of Southlake Carroll.  Clear Falls had a great run but drew The Woodlands in the semifinals, ouch.